Posted in Song of the Day

A Trip Down the Memory Lane – A Playlist of Non-Film Songs I Loved As A Child (90s-early 2000s)

Music had always been an integral part of my childhood – especially Hindi music since my mother used to be a huge fan. From as long as I can remember (and this can be substantiated through my baby videos as well), there would always be music playing in the house – either from our little black tape recorder, or from the MTV, B4U or Channel V channels on our old Philips television. That was a time where independent music was at the rage, with some songs being even more popular than actual film songs. Here I have compiled some of my favourite of these songs which I used to listen to as a child. Hope you guys enjoy it, and feel free to add more!

1- Tera Milna Pal Do Pal Ka – Sonu Nigam

This song just gives me the feels. Sonu’s voice, and the peaks and valleys of thus song are just heavenly.

2- Tera Chehra – Adnan Sami

I must have watched this song umpteen times as a kid, but then forgot about it until I saw a dance performance with this song. Such a melancholic one. And Rani Mukherjee looks like a GODDESS!

3- Made in India – Alisha Chinai

This was rage when it came out, and established the IndiPop genre in India. Watching it now, I realized that Katy Perry’s Dark Horse has a lot of similarities to this one in terms of the video.

4- Disco Deewane – Nazia Hassan

How can a playlist like this exist without at least one Nazia Hassan song. She was a sensation, and we all know why. I wish more people knew about this song rather than the SOTY version.

5- Meri Chunar Udd Udd Jaye – Falguni Pathak

This is just the first of the many Falguni Pathak songs you’ll find in this playlist. Her music videos were my favorite as a child – such innocent, cute, teenage fairytales. And look at young Trisha in this!

6- Breathless – Shankar Mahadevan

Damn I LOVE this song. I can’t tell you how many times I have tried to rattle off the song like Shankar does, only to fail after the fourth or maximum the fifth line.

7- Ab Mujhe Raat Din – Sonu Nigam

This is more of my mom’s favourite than mine, but I still kinda like it. Sonu’s voice is magical as always.

8- Chudi – Falguni Pathak

I have memories of how I was crying while my mother was untangling my hair, and I stopped immediately when this song came up on TV. The atrocious remake that has come out now only made me fall in love with the original all over again.

9- Aankhon Mein – Aryans

Not a huge fan of the song per se, but cute video! Also, adorable little Shahid Kapoor!

10- Ahista – Pankaj Udhas

A retelling of The Gift of The Magi in such an adorable way. And Sameera Reddy looks GORGEOUS in this video.

11- Maine Payal Hai Chhankai – Falguni Pathak

Again, adorable video! And such a pleasant song!

12- Piya Basanti Re – Ustad Sultab Khab, K.S. Chithra

This was a huge favourite, especially for Chithra’s voice. The kind of song I’d love to listen to sitting by the window on a lonely night.

13- O Meri Munni – Remo Fernandez

Aah, yet another song I used to love grooving to.

14- Nahin Nahin – DJ Aqeel

It was on revisiting this song now that I realized what it was actually about. At the time I was told by my aunt that he was asking for Coca Cola and she was refusing him…and I had believed that for so long!

15- Ghar Aaja Soniya – Belly Jagpal, Shazia Mansoor

Yet another pleasant song I used to like as a child, but never understood the visuals fully.

16- O Piya – Falguni Pathak

I remember how much I used to love the moon in this song. Again, Falguni is here to make us all smile and dream.

 

 

 

Leave a comment